recipe makeover: TOM YUM-my SOUP

28 Aug

Following recent blogs around hypertension, I thought I might as well remake this delicious dish (and because it’s part of my assignment LOL) and share with all of you 🙂

Why Tom Yum soup? Hmm.. I actually got an inspiration last Friday night. I was having an ‘off’ night from uni work, and decided to order Tom Yum soup from a Thai restaurant. There was nothing wrong with it, I can assure you, it was delicious and tasty. However, after a while, I started feeling very thirsty and gulped a whole bottle of water in one go. Then, it just came to me, that every time I eat Tom Yum soup, I always feel very thirsty. In this case, I assumed that it has a lot of sodium (maybe from the tom-yum or red curry paste). So, I decided to re-make this dish!

After 30mins of the-perfect-recipe searching, I finally found it. I got it from a Thai-cooking website. It looks very decent and simple enough. Well, doesn’t matter really, I was gonna modify it anyway. And there I was, scribbling down on a paper, changing the recipe.

Basically, I removed the chicken stock, tom-yum paste and red curry paste the original recipe told me to add. I replaced them with water, lemongrass, galangal, kaffir lime leaves and coriander root. The key is to add the prawn head and skins while boiling the water. Don’t throw them away just yet after you peel them. They have lots of flavour. Remember to remove them afterwards though, you don’t want anyone to eat prawn head accidentally LOL

Anyway, after all the cooking, I couldn’t wait to give it a try. It’s always the best part, isn’t it? I was expecting a bland soup (the soup is pretty clear, unlike the one they serve in the restaurant), but surprisingly, it was very yummy 🙂 To be honest, it’s not as salty and strong as they normally are, but it’s very flavoursome. The sweetness from the prawns, combined with the exotic flavour of lemongrass, coriander and kaffir lime leaves. Life is goooooooddddd 😉

Nutritionally, the modified recipe is lower in energy, fat, saturated fat, carbohydrate, sugar and most importantly sodium! It has 438 kJ, 1.1g fat, 0.2g saturated fat, 10.5g carbs, 15.3g protein and 292mg sodium per serve. It’s also gluten free. Pretty amazing hey!

Please leave a comment or drop your email and I will send you the recipe 🙂

Dea-licious tom yum goong soup tonight, anyone?

2 Responses to “recipe makeover: TOM YUM-my SOUP”

  1. Pranav Gore September 6, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    the recipe looks yummie wanna try it on my day off……

    • Dea September 6, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

      Thanks Pranav!

      Yes, you definitely should try it yourself, and let us know your feedback on this dish, especially from a chef’s point of view. 🙂

Leave a Reply

