Tips for budget shopping!

19 Sep

Do you normally plan your meal ahead?

As a busy student, I am struggling to do so. I know that planning the meal ahead is good because it’s more economical and less time-consuming, however, I just get carried away with this and that, and end up going shopping without any shopping list. And yes, I end up spending too much on unnecessary things in my basket. Not proud of it at all ><

So, together with my fellow student dietitians, we put together important shopping tips for students, and everyone, really, who are on budget. We made a video on how to shop on a budget. And really, on how to eat healthy without robbing a bank!

At the end of the video, there are a couple of recipes on budget, which are in the next two posts 🙂

Here is the video link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFGBvCbatZg

Enjoy and happy shopping! 🙂

2 Responses to “Tips for budget shopping!”

  1. Alex March 2, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    Good video, I didn’t think of checking on the supermarket’s website to see what fruit and vegetables are in season, I always just wing it or guess. I have written about this on my website, one idea I had was to count the calories of the food to work out how much money you are paying for 1 days supply of energy. You’ll find some foods are very cheap like brown rice, and some not so cheap, but it’s also important to consider nutrition. Some are also a high price per kilogram but low price per calorie, such as nuts.
    I wrote the article here if you want to read it, http://faevia.com/2012/02/how-to-reduce-your-food-budget/, and I also have other articles about health that may be worthwhile.

    • Dea March 3, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

      Thank you Alex! I am hoping we could exchange our knowledge in the future, especially you being vegan, can share with me, how to eat a balanced diet- the vegan way 🙂

Leave a Reply

