A perfect afternoon cuppa companion- vegan chocolate and peanut butter cookies!

12 Feb

Hi everyone 🙂

Firstly, I want to apologize for my disappearance last one month! I am now back in Sydney, and doing my dietetics placement. Soo..I have been caught up here and there ever since..><

Anyway! I’m so excited that my placement has started. I was so nervous on my first day! I am now a dietitian in training ❤

And…above is my desk..a desk that I share with my lovely colleague!

How are you guys doing anyway? Sydney’s weather has not been too friendly 😦 It’s sunny for one minute and BAM! raining the next minute 😦 it’s not nice..and it makes people fall sick too. I hope everyone is well and happy~ and not affected by the bad weather.

I have a recipe to share 🙂 andd..it’s vegan! I’m not vegan but I would like to learn vegan baking. I think it’s super-interesting! You don’t need to be vegan to eat vegan 😀 Also, I love trying out new things (read: weird and unusual ingredients in my baking LOL)

One rainy afternoon and I was looking through Joy’s recipe index on her website Joy the Baker http://joythebaker.com/. I love her blog ❤ She is so talented! Just look at her recipes and your stomach shall be grumbling~

It was so gloomy and I was home alone at the time..and all I wanted is a cup of tea. What could the world do without a cup of tea?! Then I just found myself browsing Joy’s recipe index, looking for something to accompany my cuppa. And there it is. Vegan chocolate and peanut butter cookies. Something simple yet comforting. Cookies, tea, rain and jazz. mmmm~

Vegan Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

kindly noted from Joy the Baker with a little bit of modification 🙂

1/2 cup vegan margarine (check the tub to be sure)

1 cup raw sugar

1/4 cup silken tofu

1/2 cup peanut butter

1tsp vanilla extract

1 cup flour

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1tsp baking powder

1/2tsp salt

1tsp cinnamon

How?

Preheat oven to 175C.

In a bowl combine margarine, raw sugar and tofu until well-blended.  Stir until you can’t see any tofu 😛 it should take around 2-3mins. Add the peanut butter and vanilla and stir to combine.

In a separate bowl sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet and stir to combine.

On a cookie tray or baking paper-lined aluminium foil, heap cookie dough using two teaspoons. It’s a bit tricky but you will master it in no time! Roll..roll..roll :p

Bake for 15-18 mins. Remove from the oven, let it sit on a cooling tray for 5 minutes.

Enjoy with a cup of tea or (soy)milk 🙂

You might think the tofu is weird. Yep! Tofu! The one you normally cook your Asian dish with. Buttttt…have a little faith 🙂 You can’t actually taste the tofu in it. When I gave the cookies to my friends, I didn’t tell them it has tofu and they didn’t notice anything unusual. Only after they finished with their dea-licious cookies, I told them the truth. “You know..that cookie you just ate has tofu in it” and they were looking at me with weird faces. LOL They can’t tell! So it’s absolutely awesome cookie 🙂 Try it yourself and let me know ;P

What is your ultimate companion for cuppa?

2 Responses to “A perfect afternoon cuppa companion- vegan chocolate and peanut butter cookies!”

  1. egomaniac February 14, 2012 at 2:00 am #

    I’m not into baking (yet) but.. Congratulations, DEAtician in training! 😀

    • Dea February 14, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

      Awwww Nik, you’re so sweet! Thanks a lot 🙂

Leave a Reply

