#2Snack attack: Muesli cookies!

6 Mar

Good day everyone!

It’s Wednesday…oh how time flies. Weekend is coming in a couple of days (Hoorayy!)

Time for another snack attack :p and it is muesli cookies time 🙂

I have to admit that this recipes trial time is heaps of fun. It is so exciting because everyday I wake up and think about which recipe I should remake today. I try my best to  make it healthier without discounting the taste (and appearance).

This muesli cookies are the same cookies I made as my thank you cookies last week. I made it again this morning for home. They are nice cookies, I love it.

I made vegan chocolate peanut butter cookies a few weeks ago, and they are also yummy. But this muesli cookie just doesn’t fail me, breakfast, morning tea, after lunch, afternoon tea, after dinner, supper LOL I am addicted!

Dea’s Muesli Cookies

makes 55-58 small cookies

3cups muesli (I use half toasted muesli, half gluten free muesli- just because I have them at home)

1/2cup wholemeal flour+ 2-3tbsps (if needed- the wetness of the mixture depends on the type of muesli you add)

1tsp cinnamon

100g light, salt reduced margarine, melted, cooled

1/3cup honey

1 egg, lightly beaten

How?

1) Preheat the oven at 180C. Mix dry ingredients together (muesli, wholemeal flour, cinnamon). In another bowl, mix the butter, honey and egg, stir until combined.

2) Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients. Mix well. Set aside for 15mins.

3) Roll into balls, and press them lightly. Bake for 10-15mins.

Isn’t it very easy?

This is probably one of the easiest cookies I’ve ever made. It only took me 1-1.5hrs (inc luding baking time AND washing :p) which I think pretty quick for such yummy cookies. You can just bake it an hour before the kids come home from school. Oh wow. It’s such a bliss coming home to these cookies.

The cinnamon is optional, if you don’t prefer adding cinnamon it’s totally cool.

I love cinnamon though~ and for me, cinnamon is the must-have ingredient, the kitchen essential (me being bias ) ;P

Nutritionally speaking, a dea-licious muesli cookie equals to 318kJ, 3.4g fat, 1g saturated fat, 9g CHO (1/2 CHO exchange), 1.4g protein and 31.5mg sodium. It is low in CHO and fat. Also suitable for vegetarian.

Leave a Reply

