Recipe makeover: Homemade Lavosh Crackers

22 Jul

Hi everyone!

How are you doing?

I hope you are doing well 🙂

I want to quickly share a recipe I stumbled upon last week. I found this recipe on Not Quite Nigella’s website.

I tried the original recipe last week. I was so excited! I didn’t know that making lavosh is not hard at all. It is actually very easy!

The lavosh is so crunchy! perfectly crisp. crunch crunch crunch…;)

If you want to try out the original recipe, you may refer to Not Quite Nigella’s website.

She had all the step-by-step pictures, too which is very helpful. I followed it closely when I first made it last week! I also did try both ways- baked as a whole and break into pieces after and baked as triangles. I personally love the triangles one. Because they are rolled thinly and cut to triangle pieces, they baked into perfection. Golden and crispy! Just like the store-bought lavosh! It takes longer time to roll and cut, but they bake really quickly too!

Now, I made some changes in the recipe 🙂 just trying to make it a bit healthier- less calories and fat! You may call this my way of lavosh!

Dea’s Homemade Lavosh Crackers

17 serve (@25g per serving or ~10-12 little crackers)

1.5cups plain flour

1.5cups wholemeal flour (you may alter the proportion of plain and wholemeal as you wish! the more wholemeal flour the more fibre!)

2tsp sea salt

2tsp sugar

1 cup warm water

1/4 cup olive oil

Above is the basic recipe of lavosh crackers. For sesame lavosh: add 3-4tbsps of sesame to the mixture. For herbs lavosh: add 2tbsps of any dried herbs you like such as oregano, mixed Italian herbs, garlic, parsley, chilli flakes, etc. I like the combination of oregano, chilli flakes and black pepper!

How?

  1. Preheat the oven at 180C.
  2. Combine all dry ingredients together in a big mixing bowl.
  3. Mix warm water and olive oil together in a jug. Give it a quick stir and pour into the dry ingredients.
  4. Using a fork, mix together until it comes together as a dough. Knead it gently until it is smooth. Divide the dough into 8 little dough balls.
  5. Turn onto a floured benchtop. Roll the dough with a rolling pin (or use empty wine bottle!) until its thin (1-2mm!).
  6. Cut the thin dough into little triangle shape (I use kitchen scissor).
  7. Bake for 12-13mins (watch them as they brown fairly quick!).
  8. Keep them in an airtight container so they stay nice and crunchy:)

I really love these lavosh crackers. My fave is the herbs lavosh crackers! Oh wow.. .I can’t stop eating it.. very dangerous for me!! ;p I think I want to try making garlic and herb lavosh crackers next time. hmm. I wonder if it works too 🙂

Nutritionally speaking, a serve of lavosh (25g or 10-12 little triangles) equals to 443kJ, 7.4g fat, 1.6g saturated fat, 8.4g CHO (1/2 CHO exchange), 1.2g protein and 106mg sodium. Fibre content will vary from 1-5g fibre, depending on how much wholemeal flour you add in.

These dea-licious crackers are suitable for vegetarian, low in carbohydrate, sugar and fat. Perfect for a quick and convenient afternoon snack- or perhaps a healthy alternatives to chippies!

It is very easy and quick to make- why don’t you give it a try? 🙂

If you like this post (or this recipe), why don’t you share it with your friends and family through your facebook or twitter update! or follow me by subscribing via email or RSS feed! 🙂 until next time!

3 Responses to “Recipe makeover: Homemade Lavosh Crackers”

  1. The Melbourne Food Snob July 22, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    Wow I didn’t realise they were so easy! I really should stop buying them.

  2. Leonard Marks July 28, 2012 at 6:05 am #

    great post

  3. Carole June 22, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

    Dea, thanks for adding this to the snack table. Cheers

Leave a Reply

