Recipe makeover: Zucchini Bread

31 Jul

Hi everyone!

How are you today?

Have you ever tried zucchini bread before?

Well, I had not until I baked one last week.

It was on my to-do list for a while now “Bake zucchini bread”

and I think it’s been a year.

Tough!

Anyway, I turned to Joy the Baker website to find zucchini bread recipe.

I love her blog.

Truly, deeply do. She is amazing with her recipes and food photography.

Check her blog out here.

I found her Almost Vegan Zucchini Bread recipe. I did not even try to look for another recipe.

Look at those pictures she has. Amazing!

I was gonna follow her recipe but…..things happened.

I looked at my pantry and woops! I didn’t have this and that.

So I did substitute some ingredients.

I also attempted to make it healthier by using apple puree and only 2 tsps of olive oil (I blame the dietitian voice in my head).

Feel free to follow Joy’s recipe too! She is great and I know for sure her recipe never fails!

Dea’s Attempted Zucchini Bread

makes 11

3 cups flour (you can also use wholemeal flour- half and half)

2 tsps baking powder

2 tsps ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp freshly ground nutmeg

1 tsp salt

3 tbsps oats

1/2 cup light soy milk

1/8 tsp vinegar

2 tsps vanilla essence

2 tsps olive oil

1 tub of apple puree

2 cups grated zucchini (about 1 1/2)

1/2-3/4 cup raw sugar, depending on how sweet you would like it to be

optional- 1/2 cup chopped nuts (pecan or walnuts would be nice!)

How?

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, salt and spices.
  3. In a medium bowl, mix together oats, soymilk, vinegar, olive oil, apple puree, vanilla extracts and sugar. Stir it well.
  4. Add the grated zucchini (and nuts, if you use) to the wet mix. Then pour the wet mix to the dry ingredients.
  5. Fold it with a wooden spoon, until they are combined well. Pour the batter into a prepared loaf pan (lined with baking paper or greased with margarine/oil spray).
  6. Bake for 1hr 🙂
  7. When it’s done, cool it down on a cooling rack for 15mins. Make sure it’s completely cool before cutting it.
  8. Get your knife from your drawer, cut a slice, and dig in!
  9. Warning- also taste awesome toasted, with a smear of margarine. yum. I hope you are salivating now 😉

To me, this bread tastes amazingly nice. I like how it’s heavily spiced. Of course, you may omit the spices if you don’t like it. It’s completely cool.

I used 1/2 cup of raw sugar and it tastes sweet enough. I think I would like it less sweet next time- maybe 1/4 cup of sugar will do for me. I prefer something less sweet for breakfast.

I have my own theory- if I eat something very sweet for breakfast, I will crave for sweets all day long. It’s just me though!

So, I like my breakfast stay plain or slightly sweet. Although exceptions do exist on weekends, holidays, happy occasions, celebrations (hmm..I started to think I am looking for excuses to have something sweet) LOL

The soymilk and vinegar in the recipe are actually a substitute for buttermilk (yes, I followed Joy’s advise!). I did not have buttermilk in my fridge when I whipped this up so I used milk and vinegar instead 🙂

I hope you like it! and as f or me- I can cross off one thing on my long to-do list! Yippee:)

Nutritionally speaking, a slice of Dea’s zucchini bread equals to 935kJ, 2.5g total fat, 0.6g saturated fat, 43g CHO (3 CHO exchanges), 5.5g protein, 0.8mg iron, 24mg sodium and 2.3g fibre. It is suitable for vegetarian.

Why don’t you try this recipe? or share it with your friends and family 🙂

8 Responses to “Recipe makeover: Zucchini Bread”

  1. Keeping Up With The Holsbys July 31, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    I’ll so do this…. I’ll be all cowboy though and add different stuff again and your old Joy recipe will be totally Chinese Whispered!!!

  2. Judith August 4, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

    This blog was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something which helped me. Thanks!

  3. ashj88 September 13, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    Your zucchini bread looks so much yummier than mine was! Haha well done.

    • Dea September 13, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

      You’re being too humble Ash! 🙂

  4. Carole's Chatter January 4, 2013 at 5:38 am #

    Hi there. Food on Friday:Zucchini is open for entries. This looks like a good one! I do hope you link it in. This is the link . Please do pop back to check out some of the other links. Happy New Year!

    • Dea January 4, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

      Hi Carole, thank you for stopping by grainddiction 🙂 I will definitely link this post to your Food on Friday:Zucchini!

  5. Carole January 5, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    Dea, thank you for linking this in to Food on Friday. We have now got a great collection of zucchini dishes together. I hope you have stopped by some of the other links to check them out!

    Ps I have just signed up to follow your blog by Google Reader. A follow back to Carole’s Chatter would be wonderful – or have you already followed? Cheers

    Ps If you would like email reminders of future Food on Fridays, just pop by and comment and include your email – I won’t publish it – and the reminder will be by bcc so it will remain private

    • Dea January 7, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

      Hi Carole- I just did! I added your blog to my google reader 🙂 i tried leaving a comment incuding my email on that post, but I couldn’t. it didn’t let me! my email is d.krismarietta@gmail.com. hope to share more recipes with you!

Leave a Reply

