#Baketogether: Pandan Panna Cotta with Ginger Sauce (low fat!)

5 Aug

Hi everyone!

How are you doing?

Hope you are well. 🙂

The weather in Sydney was great over the weekend- we had sunny days! I think it was almost 20C!

I really hope you took advantage of it- I did 🙂 I had to do my project in front of my laptop, so I couldn’t go out and sit under the sun.

But I did what I could- I opened my window completely and sat there LOL I still could enjoy the sun while doing my assignment 🙂 perfect!

This month’s (no-bake)#baketogether theme is panna cotta 🙂 This will be my first time making panna cotta, also my first time handling gelatin! I have never used one before. We always use agar-agar powder at home and never gelatin.

I have to say- gelatin is not so hard to handle 🙂 thanks to Abby I had my chance to start using gelatin!

I decided to give a slight Asian touch to Abby’s original panna cotta recipe- Ricotta Panna Cotta with Raspberry “Brezza Fresca” 🙂

I decided to make Pandan Panna Cotta with Ginger Sauce! Asian panna cotta much? ;p

                  

Pandan Panna Cotta with Ginger Sauce

makes 5

for the panna cotta:

1/8 cup of water

1/8 cup + 3/4 cup of light & creamy coconut flavoured evaporated milk

1 tsp gelatin

3/4cup of soft tofu

1/2cup of raw sugar

for the ginger syrup:

1 cup of water

2-3tbsp of palm sugar, chopped depending on how sweet you would like it to be

2cm of ginger knob or you may also use ground ginger

How? very similar to Abby’s instruction!

  1. In a microwave proof bowl, combine 1/8 cup of water, 1/8 cup of light & creamy coconut flavoured evaporated milk and 1 tsp of gelatin. Set aside for 5 minutes. 
  2. Heat it up in the microwave for 30-45secs until the gelatin is dissolved completely.
  3. Into the food processor, combine together the tofu, the rest of the evaporated milk, sugar and gelatin mix. Blend it until it’s mixed thoroughly.
  4. Pour into a glass or ramekin or tumbler (whatever you want to use!) and put them in the fridge until it’s set.
  5. For the sauce: combine everything in a pot and simmer it until the palm sugar is dissolved and to extract the ginger flavour. 

You can have it either cold or warm! That’s the beauty of this panna cotta. You can have it any time any way!

I am having it warm because it is cold down here 🙂 and I think it’s slightly better when it’s warm (me being very bias LOL)

You may adjust how much the ginger you would like to use in the sauce- so you can have it according to your liking. I like mine really ginger-y! 🙂

Had grown up in Indonesia, the combination of ginger and palm sugar is just perfect- it’s second nature to me. I don’t even have to think about it.

It is calming and soothing. It is warm and gentle for your stomach too.

I also used soft tofu (or silken tofu) instead of ricotta. Why? Don’t know why! I just felt like to try it out. Just me and my weird curiosity. 😉

Taste verdict: It’s yummy! Don’t let the tofu fools you- that’s all I can say:) It’s so creamyy and sweet- balanced with the hot and spicy ginger syrup. It’s soooo dea-licious! Try it yourself and let me know if you disagree! One thing I would do differently next time- I would reduce the sugar. I added 1/2 cup of sugar this time and it’s too sweet for me. I would reduce it to 1/4 cup of sugar next time! Oh! Also 1 thing- don’t try to remove the panna cotta from the ramekin! I did and boy oh boy- look at the picture- it’s falling apart hehe. not so pretty anymore isnt it?

This panna cotta is low in fat (saturated) because I use the light & creamy coconut flavoured evaporated milk (instead of coconut milk) and tofu (instead of ricotta). Feel free to use low-fat ricotta too! It is just as good 🙂

If you’re a vegetarian or vegan, you may want to substitute the gelatin with agar-agar powder and use coconut milk or soy cooking milk instead of light & creamy evaporated milk!

If you feel like a little bit of challenge tonight, why don’t you head off to the Asian shop, get yourself a pandan paste and make this panna cotta! Hope you like it 🙂

Nutritionally speaking, a serve of pandan panna cotta (without the syrup) equals to 538kJ, 0.9g fat, 0.2g saturated fat, 25 CHO (2 CHO exchanges), 5.8g protein, 30mg sodium and 0.6g fibre. It is low in fat (saturated fat!).

One Response to “#Baketogether: Pandan Panna Cotta with Ginger Sauce (low fat!)”

  1. Eric Shupps August 13, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

    Great post. Very helpful. Thanks for the info.

Leave a Reply

