my first Recipe Redux: tempeh with green chillies

21 Aug

hi everyone!

how are you doing?

this time is Recipe ReDux time- my very first one! woot woot woot!!

i’m so excited 🙂

this month’s theme is ‘most memorable vacation meal’.

and here is my story 🙂

I grew up in Jakarta, Indonesia. I came to Sydney 4 years ago to study. Geez, I can’t believe it has been that long.

When I lived at home, I (hate to admit) used to take things for granted. not in a bad way, but just small things. For instance, I did not have to do my own laundry. I didn’t have to think about it, and my clothes were all washed, ironed and folded- neat and tidy. Wasn’t I very lucky?

Also, I never had to think about foods. Mum always cooks for us. I always came home to a dining table full of yummy dinner, prepared by my mum. She is THE best chef! Her foods are always fresh, delicious and healthy. I am very lucky to have her as my mum- she took a great care of me (and my siblings).

Anyway, before I came to Australia, my vacation meal was my non-Indonesian meals- steak, ribs, pasta, pizza.

but now. my vacation meal is my home-cooked meal. My mum’s foods. yes. my Indonesian foods. slurp. which I can’t get much here.

i miss my mum’s foods all the timeee!

i went back home last summer and mum cooked my favorite foods everyday:) so for my most memorable vacation meal, i chose tempeh with green chilli or tempe cabe ijo in bahasa!

for you who have never heard tempeh before. below is what it looks like (raw).

tempeh is fermented soybean (using Rhizopus oligosporus as culture). it is one of many Indonesian traditional foods. and i lovee tempeh! i don’t care how it’s cooked, as long as it has tempeh in it, i will definitely enjoy it. nomnomnom

tempeh is very nutritious and cheap. it is widely available in Indonesia. bonus point- it’s vegan! these days, tempeh is regarded as a source of protein for vegetarians/vegans.

for us who live overseas, well, we can also find tempeh here, in supermarket 🙂 look at the chilled section (near tofu or cheese or vegetarian products).

Mum’s Tempeh with Green Chillies

makes 4

4 cloves of garlic

4 med size eschallots (the eschalotts in Sydney are much bigger than what we have in Indonesia)

1 tsp coriander seeds

3 bay leaves

green chillies- how much? up to you! 🙂 i go crazy with chillies- i love my chillies!

500g tempeh

3 tbsps of sweet soy sauce or Kecap Manis

1 tbsp of olive oil or canola oil

How?

  1. Preheat your oven at 180C. Then, cut up the tempeh into small cubes. Place the tempeh on a baking tray. Spray with a cooking spray or drizzle with little oil.  
  2.  Bake them well for about 30-40mins depending on your oven, just watch it closely. (I also put an eschallot and two green chillies together with the tempeh- just for fragrant while baking!)
  3. While its in the oven, you may start processing the ‘seasoning’. If you have mortar & pestle, you can chuck the garlic, eschallots, green chillies and coriander seeds in it. Otherwise, you may use a food processor. If you don’t have any of the two, don’t worry! Just chop everything very finely and mix it together.                                                                                                                                                   
  4. Now- you have to wait until the tempeh is ready. When it’s done, take it out of the oven. It should be golden brown and crunchy. 
  5. Heat a tablespoon of oil in a wok. Cook the seasoning until it’s fragrant (add the bay leaves approximately 2-3mins after you add the seasoning).
  6. Add in the tempeh and mix it well. Let the seasoning coat all the tempeh nicely. Finally, add the sweet soy sauce!
  7. For finishing touch, season with sugar and salt. Just a little bit- to your taste!
  8. Dig in! Serve with rice and vegetables

I hate to say that the tempeh in Australia is not quite the same as the tempeh we have back home.

But this dish is still special to me 🙂 it reminds me of home. its taste brought warmth and love to my heart<3

..and it’s delicious!

In summary, I made this dish healthier by:

  • baking instead of frying
  • less oil and healthier oil
  • if you look at my plate- it’s 1/4 carbohydrate, 1/4 protein food (tempeh!) and 1/2 veggie serve! a balanced meal 🙂

I hope you enjoy this dish 🙂



8 Responses to “my first Recipe Redux: tempeh with green chillies”

  1. Playful and Hungry August 21, 2012 at 11:36 pm #

    I love tempeh and this looks like a great way to make it!!!

  2. veggiegrettie August 22, 2012 at 1:51 am #

    You had me at “green chillies!” I love the heat and this looks like a wonderfully flavorful dish.

  3. trialsinfood August 22, 2012 at 2:35 am #

    i didn’t know tempeh was a traditional Indonesian food. i haven’t been able to find it here in the supermarkets. thanks for sharing your mum’s recipe!

    • Dea September 15, 2012 at 10:54 am #

      Yes it is indonesian:) it’s normally in the chilled section, together with tofu or vegetarian products.

  4. Kat @ Eating The Week August 22, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

    I love tempeh but have never thought to bake it. I’ll definitely try your recipe!

    • Dea September 15, 2012 at 10:53 am #

      Yes definitely! How do you normally cook your tempeh?

  5. Kristen RD (@swankydietitian) August 23, 2012 at 6:59 am #

    This looks delicious!
    I have only tried tempeh once and didn’t enjoy it. I really want to try and give it a second shot. This looks like a great way to try it.

    • Dea September 15, 2012 at 10:46 am #

      Yes please give it a second shot! I love tempeh and I agree- if the preparation way is not correct it could taste awful! But I do hope you will enjoy this version 🙂

Leave a Reply

