November Recipe ReDux- Fagiolini in padella

22 Nov

Hi everyone! 🙂

It’s been foreverrr. I’m soooo sorry I haven’t been updating this blog.

I have neglected Grainddiction for a month 😦 not happy. I can explain why.

Last one month was a horribly hectic month for me. As we all know, I am in my last bit of uni- in pursuit of my dietetics degree. November is the ‘big’ month.

My research project- which I did for a few months- has finally come to an end. I finally did it- finally wrapped things up. Research project- ticked. Research presentation- ticked. Uni bits and pieces- ticked. Done and dusted. and now- I’m officially done!! I am a 100% qualified dietitian! 🙂 big smile!

Another good news- I got a job! hip hip hooray! I, now, work as a casual dietitian in a private allergy clinic. It is not a full-time position but I am so happy I got this. I am learning so much!

So all in all, November has been quite a journey- started with last-minute stress for the research submission, practicing my research presentation (I am wondering if my neighbour could hear me yapping over the wall), very happy that uni is over, excited as I’m about to embark on a new journey, combined with sad and emotional last day at uni.

Now that I finished uni, I’m hoping I can dedicate more time on blogging and baking (and working, of course!).

The theme for November Recipe ReDux is vintage side dish. Not easy. I found this theme very challenging. I couldn’t quite decide what I should make. until I found this old recipe book in my house. Weird thing is that I don’t know whom this book belongs to. Certainly not mine. Maybe my ex-housemate? I’m not quite sure to be honest with you.

This book is so old that it smells. you know- old kinda smell.

and i chose to re-make this recipe.

Fagiolini in padella or alla napoletana

French beans cooked with tomatoes

serve 4

500g french beans- or green beans

500g ripe tomatoes

1 tbsp of reduced fat margarine

1 tbsp olive oil

1 medium sized onion, finely chopped

2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped or crushed

salt and pepper

3 hard boiled eggs, chopped

grated Parmesan cheese- I use grana padana

How?

  1. Trim the beans, wash and leave for about 30 minutes in iced water; if they have come straight from the garden this is not necessary.
  2. Peel and coarsely chop the tomatoes.
  3. Heat the margarine and oil in a non-stick pan, add the onion and fry gently until a golden colour and soft.
  4. Add the garlic, then tomatoes, stir well and let the tomatoes come to a slow boil.
  5. Add the beans, salt and pepper, cover the pan, lower the heat and cook gently for 30-45 minutes until they are soft.
  6. Serve hot, garnished with the eggs and sprinkled with grated cheese.
  7. The beans can be served warm or cold, as an antipasto.

It’s yummy- I couldn’t stop eating it while cooking (very bad habit I have to quit!). I cooked it for dinner and made another 3 lunchbox with extra salads and rice.

It actually tastes better the next day!

Ciao!



2 Responses to “November Recipe ReDux- Fagiolini in padella”

  1. Serena November 24, 2012 at 6:40 am #

    Huge, huge congratulation on becoming a dietitian! That’s great! I love green beans and eggs so will be making this soon!

    • Dea November 24, 2012 at 9:46 am #

      Thank youuuuuu so much!!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

