December Recipe ReDux: my ultimate (kitchen) gadget

21 Dec

Hey everyone!

How are you? I bet you are all very excited as Christmas is coming in less than a week! In 4 days- to be exact.

Again- I can’t believe how fast time goes. Can’t digest it. Too fast too scary. Agree?

This month’s Recipe ReDux theme is favorite kitchen gadget. COOL! I’m soo excited!

I think if you spend enough time in the kitchen, you will eventually be addicted to kitchen tools and gadgets.

When I was younger, I didn’t like to look at kitchen tools and gadgets. But my mom does. She loves it! and I used to be so bored going to home ware shops.

A few years later- bham! I can’t get enough of it. I don’t know if I should call it karma or genetics. LOL

It’s pretty difficult to decide which one is my favorite. I have two kitchen gadgets that I feel very useful- one in baking and one in cooking.

and after baking a lot of cookies and cakes for Christmas, I eventually came to a conclusion that my handheld mixer is my ultimate gadget of all time! 🙂

IMG_3942

why is it so special?

first thing, it’s so useful, and handy. we use mixer often in baking cakes and cookies. this mixer also comes with bread dough hook attachment. but so far i have never used it, when it comes to bread-making, i want to get my hands on.

second thing, this mixer actually belongs to mum. i took (read:stole) it with me to Sydney two years ago. that makes it more special. i remember her every time i use it and remember the times when we used to spend together in the kitchen. i used to help  my mum a lot in the kitchen- well i think i helped but i had no clue if i actually helped or just made a mess? lol

the recipe today? chocolate beet cake. it’s been a while that i wanted to try making a cake from beet. and found two beautiful beets on the weekend, hence chocolate beet cake!

the basic recipe is from Joy the Baker. i love her recipes. never fails me! you may follow her recipes of Chocolate Beet Cake with Beet Cream Cheese Frosting.

I pretty much followed her recipe, but I substituted a few ingredients in the attempt of making it a little healthier (less saturated fat).

IMG_3967

Chocolate Beet Cake

slightly adapted from Joy the Baker

2 medium or 1 large beets, unpeeled but trimmed of their greens

1 teaspoon olive oil

3/4 cup canola spread

1 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting the pans

2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 1/4 cups buttermilk

For the Frosting:

1 cup canola spread

1 packet light cream cheese, softened

4 cups icing sugar, sifted

2 tablespoons finely grated beets, mashed with a fork

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1-2 teaspoons milk, depending on desired consistency (i didn’t have to add anything)

1/2 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

pinch of salt

How?

1. Preheat oven to 190C. Wash the beets thoroughly under running water and put them in aluminium foil. Drizzle with just a bit of olive oil and wrap it up. Pop it in the oven for about 1 hour. IMG_3940

2. When it’s done, carefully remove from the oven and open the foil (careful of the hot steam) to cool. When it’s cool to handle, peel ’em and grate them. You would need 3/4 cup of grated beets for the cake and 2 tablespoons for the frosting. IMG_3941

3. Reduce the oven temperature to 175C. Prepare two round baking pans. Line them with a baking paper and spray with cooking spray lightly. Add a dusting of flour to coat the pan.

4. In a mixing bowl, cream together spread and sugars with the handheld mixer. Beat on medium speed until pale and fluffy, about 3-5 minutes. Beat in the eggs, one at a time. Beat after each addition. Once eggs are incorporated, beat in beets and vanilla extract until thoroughly combined.

5. In a medium bowl, combine together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Add half of the dry ingredients to the mixture.  Beating on low speed , slowly add the buttermilk.  Once just incorporated, add the other half of the dry ingredients.  Beat on medium speed until milk and dry ingredients are just incorporated.  IMG_3945

6. Divide the batter between the two prepared cake pans.  Bake for 30-32 minutes or until it is done (when a skewer inserted in the center comes out clean). IMG_3949

7. Remove cakes from the oven and allow to rest for 10 minutes.  Invert cakes onto a cooling rack to cool completely before frosting and assembling the cake.

To make the Frosting:

Beat light cream cheese for 30 seconds, until smooth.  Add the spread and beat for another 30 seconds, until well combined. Beat in the beets.  Add icing sugar, vanilla extract, milk, lemon juice, and salt.  Beat on medium speed until smooth and silky.  Refrigerate the frosting for 30 minutes before frosting the cooled cakes.IMG_3963

Lastly, to assemble the cake, put the first cake on a cake stand/plate. Layer it with the frosting. Spread it evenly, and put the other cake on top. Again, top it with the frosting. There will be frosting left over. Refrigerate for a few hours before serving to let the frosting set nicely. Cake will last for up to 4 days, well wrapped in the fridge.

IMG_3965

IMG_3964

I thank Joy for this recipe. I tested this recipe to a friend of mine without telling it’s got beets in it. And guess what- did not taste beet at all! now that this is tested and approved- i’m going to make one for Christmas lunch I’m hosting. Excited!

what i really like from this cake is that it’s got a lot of beets in it, what a(n) (almost too)good way to ‘hide’ it.

IMG_3968

enjoying a piece of this cake with a cup of tea~

Merry Christmas everyone- have a wonderful and joyful holiday!



9 Responses to “December Recipe ReDux: my ultimate (kitchen) gadget”

  1. Emma Stirling December 21, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    Beautiful icing! I love beetroot in cake – makes it so moist. Stephanie Alexander has a wonderful choc and beet recipe from her kitchen garden program too.

  2. Delicious Knowledge (@delishknowledge) December 22, 2012 at 6:46 am #

    Mmmm, I love chocolate beet cake. Never made it with cream cheese frosting- looks wonderful!

  3. Dixya @ Food, Pleasure and Health December 22, 2012 at 6:53 am #

    I have never experimented this Joy’s recipe although it looks so delicious..and the handheld mixer also happens to my absolute fav gadget which i got for xmas last year. it does a great job with cake batter and creaming butter and sugar.

  4. nutritionbudgeteer December 22, 2012 at 8:01 am #

    I’ve got beets and buttermilk in my fridge right now. Love the pink color of the icing. I have to bring a dessert to a Christmas party I’m attending this week. You may have just provided me with the answer to what to bring. Thanks.

  5. Penny December 23, 2012 at 7:05 am #

    I’ve used pureed beans to replace butter in cake, added in shredded zucchini and carrots but never thought of using beets. Got to give this a try.

  6. serena December 27, 2012 at 4:01 am #

    Why do you think the recipe uses beets? Does it make the cake moister? Love the pink frosting!

    • Dea December 30, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

      Yes- it makes it really moist and soft.. Especially as the beetroot was grated finely. I really love it….and the colour is so beautiful!

  7. Deanna Segrave-Daly (@tspbasil) December 27, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    That it – the next beets I get in my CSA share are getting made into this cake! Look delish.

    • Dea December 30, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

      Exciting!!!!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

