Recipe Redux- Buttermilk Pannacotta with Grapes and Rosemary Reduction

21 Mar

Hi everyone!

It’s time for Recipe Redux šŸ™‚

This month’s theme is super interesting-

March – Green with Herb Envy – March means all things green: Sprouts of green popping up from the earth, window gardens of herbs, and wistful gardeners flipping through seed catalogs of green. This month, use any fresh green herb in aĀ non-traditionalĀ way: Think strawberry basil ice cream, mint salsa, lemon thyme muffins or anything with marjoram!

I love herbs in my cooking. Back home (Indonesia), we use more spices than herbs, the only herbs we often use is probably parsley- although I might just speak for myself here. i’m not going to attempt a generalization LOL

When I came to Sydney, I was kind of forced to learn how to cook and found herbs are great! They boost the flavour of the dish- very aromatic and to be honest making cooking experience so much better. I hate cooking meat because it tend to smell (or maybe I am just not a good cook) (or maybe my nose is just too sensitive) (maybe I just miss my mom too much). By adding herbs, I found cooking much more enjoyable- the kitchen is full with beautiful fragrance. My ultimate herbs to use are parsley, coriander, rosemary, thyme and basil. I regularly use them in my cooking.

Recently I tried gardening my own herbs. However I keep failing. I have tried gardening my own herbs twice and both failed. I keep trying though. Do you have any tips for beginners like me?

At the moment, I am gardening basil, parsley and chilli, I put them in my balcony. I have had them since January and they are still alive! So proud šŸ™‚ by far the eldest herbs I have grown!

IMG_4103

And yes, I also had lettuce and cauliflower there. I still have the cauliflower, but I have lost my lettuce. It was fully grown and one morning, I found themĀ disappear! I suspectedĀ caterpillarĀ ate ’em all- I did notice the lettuce had few holes here and there- but never realized it could all be disappeared.

In the light of herbs in aĀ non-traditionalĀ way- my mind was thinking crazy ideas. However I wasn’t confident enough to pull off something like that.

So..I asked my special person to help. and this is his recipe.

Buttermilk Pannacotta with Grapes and Rosemary Reduction

photo (4)

For pannacotta:

600ml buttermilk

70g sugar

2 leaves ofĀ gelatineĀ OR 10g powderedĀ gelatine

1 tsp vanilla extract OR scrape of 1 vanilla bean

For reduction:

a cup of water

50g grapes (I use red globes grapes- myĀ favouriteĀ but you can use whichever you like!), cut into halves

a sprig of rosemary

1 tbsp of honey

photo (2)

How?

1) For the pannacotta: warm up 200ml of buttermilk. simmer it, don’t let it boil. Once it’s warm, add in the vanilla.

2) If you are using theĀ gelatineĀ leaves, soak it first in cold water before using it to soften it. Then add it into the buttermilk. If you are using powderedĀ gelatine, add it straight into the buttermilk.

3) Mix it until it is just combined. Add remaining buttermilk, strain and pour into mould/cup/mug- whatever you’d like šŸ™‚ Set it overnight in the refrigerator.

4) For the reduction: Bring the water to boil and add half a sprig of rosemary.

5) Add in the grapes and honey, then let it reduce to a syrup consistency (not yet honey thick, just syrup thick).

photo (1)

6) Once it’s reduced, take it off heat, add in the remaining half of a sprif of rosemary and let it cool. Once it’s cool enough to handle, peel and de-seed the grapes (this is optional step).

7) Gently remove the pannacotta from the mould (it is wobbly!) and serve with the reduction.

photo (3)

When I first removed the pannacotta from the mould, I thought I wasn’t gonna make it through Recipe Redux this month ;P it was really wobbly- and slippery.

However after a few seconds holding my breath, it was out pretty on the plate.

Tasting time. Honestly, I thought it would be just like normal pannacotta. boy I was wrong.

It was really delicious. the combination of grapes and rosemary- completely blows my mind (andĀ taste bud). The flavour is so warm, earthy and humble.

If you have never tried making pannacotta- then this recipe is a must-try!

I was really anxious about the wobbly pannacotta, so perhaps i would add in a bit more gelatin next time. however the flavour is just perfect!

I am really looking forward to seeing the creations by fellow Recipe Redux-ers. Don’t forget to check them out by clicking the link below!

Until next time! – and I hope you enjoy my recipe šŸ™‚



4 Responses to “Recipe Redux- Buttermilk Pannacotta with Grapes and Rosemary Reduction”

  1. dixya@food, pleasure, and health March 22, 2013 at 1:42 am #

    I saw another recipe redux making pannacotta and this is tempting me so much. I have tried my little herb garden but didnt do very well šŸ˜¦

  2. serena March 24, 2013 at 3:29 am #

    Yum! So glad you made panna cotta. I wanted to but didn’t get it together. So now i can make your foolproof one!

  3. Deanna Segrave-Daly (@tspbasil) March 25, 2013 at 9:39 am #

    I love love this combination! I can image all the flavors, tang of buttermilk, sweetness of grapes and woodsy taste of rosemary, yum. And this black thumb is definitely impressed with your gardening skills šŸ™‚

    • Dea March 31, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

      Thanks Deanna! Actually I’m not green thumb at all hehe my plants are all gone eaten by the naughty caterpillars ;p

Leave a Reply

