April Recipe ReDux- (allergy friendly) Very Vanilla Cupcake!

21 Apr

Hi everyone 🙂

How is everyone doing?

Hope everyone is well- and excited for April’s Recipe ReDux. The theme this month is:

April – The Cupcake Conundrum – Cupcakes: Yes or no? Can you not get enough cupcakes…or are you so over the cupcake trend? If you think cupcakes never go out of style, show us your most delicious ‘ReDux-ed’ mini-cake creation. Or if you’re in the camp that cupcakes have been a bit overdone, share your favorite hand-held dessert destined to be the next big trend. Inspiration for this month’s theme is courtesy of The Meal Makeover Moms.

I think it is a little challenging. Cupcakes are easy to make, however it is not easy to find the best cupcake: pretty, delicious, healthy and creative in one. Until now, I have not found the ultimate cupcake recipe. Hence I am really looking forward to reading what’s everyone doing this month!

Please do not go away from my page after you read the sentence above. ;P please have a little faith in  me- as I have the ultimate allergen friendly cupcake recipe! This recipe has been tried and tested in my kitchen, more than once! Yippee Yippee for everyone who is allergic to dairy/soy/egg/nuts/wheat/gluten. Also, for all the mums who ever need to bake safe-for-everyone-to-eat-at-a-party cupcakes! This recipe is da’ bomb! Look no more, peeps!

Dea’s Allergen Friendly Very Vanilla Cupcakes

dairy free, soy free, nut free, egg free, wheat and gluten-free

makes 20 cupcakes 

DSC_8475 DSC_8476 DSC_8481

 

 

DSC_8440 DSC_8445 DSC_8448


  1. DSC_8456

 

DSC_8477

I love this recipe so much. This recipe ‘invention’ was part of my research last year. I was trying out a lot of allergen friendly recipes and this recipe is a combination of a lot of recipes, textbook’s knowledge of food functionality and my own crazy idea. And finally I am satisfied with this recipe. The texture is really fantastic- it is exactly the same as gluten containing cupcakes. It is soft and spongy.

DSC_8468 DSC_8473 DSC_8478

The taste is delicious. It tastes as nice as dairy and/or egg-containing cupcakes. I have tested this cupcakes with my colleagues, friends, and family. All came back with great feedback!

If I were to improve this recipe further, I would want to improve the colour. It’s looking a little pale. If you are not fussy with food colouring and really want to make this cupcakes more attractive, you could always add food colouring (or natural one using beetroot/spinach/carrot juice). I personally like it as it is. Yes it’s a little pale, but this cupcake is really basic hence it is safe for everyone to eat. We don’t have to ever worry about giving this cupcake to a child- it won’t make the child sick from any allergy or intolerance. unless if we give them too many cupcakes, of course LOL

I hope everyone enjoy my post today- and hopefully have a chance to try out my recipe! all feedbacks are welcome 🙂

DSC_8483

Don’t forget to check out other’s Recipe ReDux cupcakes creation! Follow the link below!

If you enjoy this post, why don’t you share it with your friends and family?



7 Responses to “April Recipe ReDux- (allergy friendly) Very Vanilla Cupcake!”

  1. emmastirling April 21, 2013 at 10:14 pm #

    Love the thought and research behind this recipe Dea! Especially like your own GF flour combo.

    • Dea April 22, 2013 at 3:50 pm #

      Thanks Emma! It was not easy, but I had fun and it’s totally worth it!

  2. Kat Lynch, MPH (@EatingTheWeek) April 21, 2013 at 11:40 pm #

    My 6yo was puzzled that I was buying vanilla extract the other day when we hadn’t lined up any recipes in which to use it. Now I can tell him it was in anticipation of these cupcakes.

    • Dea April 22, 2013 at 3:52 pm #

      Yay for me and him!

  3. Deanna Segrave-Daly (@tspbasil) April 22, 2013 at 4:12 am #

    I don’t think “pale” is a bad thing at all when it comes to true, real vanilla goodies! I think these sound like an amazing option for anyone with specific allergies – or really anyone for that matter – I’m a vanilla nut myself 🙂

    • Dea April 22, 2013 at 3:54 pm #

      I’m with you- that’s why I like it as it is. It is a great alternative for everyone with any allergy, especially kids. We don’t want them to feel left out in a birthday party just because they can’t have the cakes. So definitely a great option!

  4. Lilia @ healthymakesithappen May 22, 2013 at 10:46 am #

    Hi! I’m very intrigued by your recipe! I can’t see the recipe on this page though? Is it here?
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

