Recipe: Guacamole Hummus

20 May

Hi everyone!

It’s time for a slight variation of hummus! It’s a bit different to your plain hummus.

Just in case if you want to try something different!

I actually tried this one on Cinco de Mayo! Served it to a few friends who came over to my place. It was a great dip to serve with corn chips or even toasted Lebanese bread!

It’s great too because even vegetarians/vegans can have them! Serves the crowd just right 🙂

I used the recipe from Shutterbean’s Guacamole Hummus, although I made a few changes:

  • I used coriander leaves instead of cilantro
  • I only used 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • I used fresh squeezed lime instead of lemon
  • I added 2tsps of tahini (sesame paste)
  • I finished it off with a sprinkle of ground paprika

The result? Amazing! The taste is so unique.

When I first tasted it, I was a bit confused, as I could not tell if it’s more like a guacamole or hummus. LOL. After my second dip, I decided it is guacamole hummus! Neither  guacamole nor hummus!

It’s quite versatile, too. You can have it as a dip, or spread it on your toast or wrap! Yumm!

Don’t forget to keep it in the refrigerator! It should keep well over 1-2days when kept at chilled temperature. 

4 Responses to “Recipe: Guacamole Hummus”

  1. frugalfeeding May 20, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    I like this idea a lot, it looks really appealing and delicious.

    • Dea May 21, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

      Thank you! Hope you will get a chance to try it out 🙂

  2. Karen May 20, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    It sounds like a great party pleaser. Coriander and cilantro leaves are the same thing…just depends which part of the world you live in as to what they are called.

    • Dea May 21, 2012 at 8:49 am #

      Ah! There we go! I have never known that cilantro leaves are coriander leaves! I knew that they are similar but I didn’t know they actually are the same thing! Thanks for the info Karen!

Leave a comment